Perch & Purr

Feeders, Fountains & Bowls

PETLIBRO Dockstream vs Dockstream 2

Same idea, one generation apart. The interesting difference is not the half-liter of capacity; it is how much more the newer one will tell you about itself.

By Sawyer V.Published Last updated

Affiliate disclosure: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we rank first — here is how we're funded.

A cordless pet water fountain on a kitchen floor

Everyone in this category says they tested twenty litter boxes. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the published specs, read the manuals, and do the arithmetic on what this gear costs to run and how it behaves once there is more than one cat using it. Every spec is linked to the document it came from. Prices are checked daily — last verified October 19, 2026. Here is exactly how we pick.

Buy the Dockstream 2 if you have more than one cat or the fountain lives near where someone sleeps: it publishes 3 L, 23 dB and up to 30 days per charge, where the original publishes no noise figure and no runtime at all. Buy the original only if the price gap is meaningful to you and a single cat is drinking from it. The upgrade is mostly disclosure, and disclosure is worth paying for in this category.

What actually changed

Both are the same idea: a cordless, sensor-activated fountain that can sit where the cat drinks rather than where the outlet is. That is a real advantage, because cats drink more from water kept away from their food, which our feeding station guide works through.

The generational difference is half a liter of capacity and a substantially fuller spec sheet. The second generation publishes a noise figure, a battery life, a charge time and app monitoring. The first publishes a battery size and a tray material. That gap is the comparison.

The Dockstream 2 is the one to buy: 3 L, 23 dB published, up to 30 days per charge for one pet in sensor mode, a 7-8 hour charge and app monitoring. The original Dockstream publishes 2.5 L, a 5,000 mAh battery and a stainless steel tray — and no noise figure and no runtime claim. With three cats, expect nearer 10 days per charge rather than 30, which is our arithmetic from PETLIBRO’s single-pet figure.

What the two publish

Published figures, PETLIBRO Dockstream and Dockstream 2
SpecificationDockstream (original)Dockstream 2
Capacity2.5 L (84 oz)3 L
PowerCordless, rechargeableCordless, rechargeable
Battery5,000 mAhNot published as a capacity
Battery lifeNot publishedUp to 30 days, one pet, sensor-activated
Charge timeNot published7-8 hours idle; up to 10 hours in use
NoiseNot published23 dB
TrayStainless steelNot published in our source
MonitoringNone publishedApp
Filter intervalNot publishedNot published
Filter priceNot publishedNot published

PETLIBRO's published figures as named in our sources. Neither generation publishes a filter interval or a filter price, which on a fountain is normally the largest ownership cost.

The battery claim, corrected for a real house

The arithmetic — Thirty days is a single-cat figure

PETLIBRO publishes up to 30 days per charge for one pet with sensor-activated flow. The sensor is the whole reason that figure is possible: the pump runs when a cat approaches rather than continuously.

So battery life scales with approaches, not with time. Two cats drinking the same amount each trigger it roughly twice as often: about 15 days. Three cats: about 10 days.

That is our arithmetic from PETLIBRO’s own single-pet number, not a figure PETLIBRO publishes — and it is the correction that matters on a site written for multi-cat homes. A ten-day cycle is still fine. A thirty-day expectation that turns out to be ten is how a cordless fountain ends up flat and ignored.

The original Dockstream publishes a 5,000 mAh cell and no runtime at all, so the same correction cannot even be started for it.

Twenty-three decibels is the real upgrade

A fountain is an appliance that runs in a room people live in, and 23 dB is the quietest figure PETLIBRO publishes across its range — against not more than 30 dB on its corded stainless fountain. The original Dockstream publishes nothing, which is not the same as being loud but does mean you are buying blind.

This is the specification that decides whether a fountain can live in a bedroom or a studio, and for a lot of households it is worth more than the extra half liter.

The gap in both sheets

Neither generation publishes a filter interval or a filter price. On this site that is the number that dominates fountain ownership: PETLIBRO’s own corded stainless fountain publishes a two-week interval and a $14.99 four-pack, which is $97.44 a year — about twelve times its electricity. We cannot tell you the equivalent figure for either Dockstream because PETLIBRO does not state it, and we are not going to estimate it from a different product. Assume a real consumable cost and check the filter price before you buy. Our fountain price comparison shows how much that line moves the total, and filtered against filterless covers the option that removes it entirely.

The two fountains

The PETLIBRO Dockstream 2 is the one to buy. 3 L, a published 23 dB, up to 30 days per charge for one pet in sensor mode, a 7 to 8 hour charge time and app monitoring so you can see whether the thing is actually being used. The disclosure is the reason: on a fountain, the numbers you cannot look up are the ones that cost you later. For: multi-cat homes, quiet rooms, and anyone who wants the fountain where the cat drinks rather than where the socket is. Skip it if: you want a known filter cost — PETLIBRO publishes neither interval nor price for this model — or you would rather not own a battery at all, in which case a corded stainless fountain is the better buy.

The original PETLIBRO Dockstream is the one to buy only if the price difference is material to you and a single cat is drinking from it. It publishes 2.5 L, a 5,000 mAh battery and a stainless steel tray — and the stainless tray is a genuine point in its favor, since PETLIBRO does not state the tray material for the 2 in our source. For: one cat, a room where noise does not matter, a tighter budget. Skip it if: you have two or more cats — 2.5 L and an unpublished runtime is the wrong combination — or the fountain has to live near a bed, because there is no decibel figure to check.

Whether cordless is the right choice at all

  • Cordless wins on placement, which is the one thing that reliably increases how much a cat drinks: water away from food, in a room the cat uses.
  • Corded wins on maintenance. No charging cycle, no cell that degrades, and on PETLIBRO’s corded stainless model you get a published 5 W ceiling worth about $8.03 a year.
  • Neither wins on filters, and filters are the real cost. The only way to delete that line is a filterless design.
  • Nothing here is a hydration treatment. The Cornell Feline Health Center discusses water intake in the context of lower urinary tract disease; we do the arithmetic and are not veterinarians.

See the fountains

Our cordless fountain roundup ranks the format, the main fountain roundup covers the whole category on specification depth, and running costs does the arithmetic that decides what one of these actually costs to own.

The gear discussed here

Specs are the manufacturer's own, linked to the page they came from. Prices come from a live daily check; where we have no verified price we say so rather than print a stale one.

1. Running water anywhere, with no cord

PETLIBRO Dockstream 2 Cordless Fountain

PETLIBRO · Wireless water fountain · Our score 8.4/10

PETLIBRO Dockstream 2 Cordless Fountain
$89.99 · Check price on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 19, 2026. Prices move; we check daily. How we're funded.

A 3 L cordless fountain published at up to 30 days per charge for one cat in sensor mode, and 23 dB -- a fountain you can put where there is no socket.

Published specs

Capacity3 L
Battery lifeUp to 30 days, one pet, sensor-activated flow
Charge time7 to 8 hours idle; up to 10 hours in use
Noise23 dB (published)
MonitoringApp

Source: PETLIBRO -- Dockstream 2 Smart Fountain product page (3 L, up to 30 days per charge for one pet in sensor mode, 23 dB)

Our arithmetic — Battery life at three cats
About 10 days

PETLIBRO publishes 30 days for one pet with the flow triggered by a sensor. The pump runs when a cat approaches, so pump time scales roughly with the number of cats drinking. Three cats get roughly a third -- around 10 days between charges. Still far longer than the water stays fresh.

What the specs favor

  • No cord, so it can go anywhere
  • Published battery life with its conditions stated
  • 23 dB published, among the quietest figures we have
  • Sensor flow saves both battery and pump wear

What they don't

  • Battery life is for one pet; more cats means more charging
  • Up to 10 hours to charge while in use
  • A battery wears out; a mains pump does not
Skip this one if

The fountain will sit next to a socket anyway. A corded fountain removes a charging job for nothing.

How it scores

Placement freedom10.0
Noise9.5
Published spec depth8.5
Capacity7.0
Running cost7.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

2. Cordless for less

PETLIBRO Dockstream Cordless Fountain

PETLIBRO · Wireless water fountain · Our score 7.6/10

PETLIBRO Dockstream Cordless Fountain
$66.49 · Check price on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 19, 2026. Prices move; we check daily. How we're funded.

The original Dockstream: 2.5 L on a 5,000 mAh battery with a stainless steel tray -- smaller than the Dockstream 2, and without the app.

Published specs

Capacity2.5 L (84 oz)
Battery5,000 mAh
TrayStainless steel
PowerCordless, rechargeable

Source: PETLIBRO -- Dockstream Cordless Fountain product page (2.5 L, 5,000 mAh battery, stainless steel tray)

Our arithmetic — Capacity against the Dockstream 2
2.5 L vs 3 L

Half a liter less water, which is a sixth of the Dockstream 2's tank. For one or two cats, the difference is a refill a day or so sooner. For three, the bigger tank is worth having.

What the specs favor

  • Cordless placement
  • Published battery capacity
  • Stainless drinking tray

What they don't

  • Smaller tank than the Dockstream 2
  • No published battery-life figure in days
  • Battery ages like any rechargeable
Skip this one if

You have three or more cats. The larger tank and published battery life of the Dockstream 2 fit that house better.

How it scores

Placement freedom10.0
Noise8.0
Published spec depth6.5
Capacity6.0
Running cost7.5

Scores are our editorial weighting of the published specs above, not a test result. They are deliberately kept out of this page's structured data.

Common questions

Is the PETLIBRO Dockstream 2 worth the upgrade?
Yes if you have more than one cat or the fountain lives somewhere quiet. The 2 publishes 3 L against 2.5 L, a 23 dB noise figure and up to 30 days per charge for one pet in sensor mode, plus app monitoring. The original publishes a 2.5 L capacity, a 5,000 mAh battery and a stainless tray, and no decibel figure or battery-life claim at all.
What is the difference between the Dockstream and Dockstream 2?
Half a liter of capacity, and disclosure. Both are cordless sensor-activated fountains. The 2 adds a published 23 dB noise figure, a stated battery life of up to 30 days for one pet, a 7 to 8 hour charge time and app monitoring. The original publishes a 5,000 mAh battery and a stainless steel tray but no runtime or noise figure.
How long does a cordless cat fountain battery last with several cats?
Far less than the headline. PETLIBRO's up-to-30-days figure is for one pet with sensor-activated flow, and the sensor is what saves the battery -- it runs when a cat approaches rather than continuously. Three cats triggering it three times as often lands nearer ten days, which is our arithmetic from PETLIBRO's own single-pet figure, not a number PETLIBRO publishes.
Is a cordless cat fountain better than a corded one?
It is better at placement and worse at maintenance. Cordless lets the fountain go where the cat drinks rather than where the outlet is, which genuinely matters because cats prefer water away from food. The price is a battery to recharge every week or two and a part that degrades, where a mains adapter does not.
Do these fountains need filters?
PETLIBRO does not publish a filter interval or filter price for either Dockstream in our sources, which is the gap that matters most for cost. On its corded stainless fountain PETLIBRO publishes a two-week interval and a $14.99 four-pack -- $97.44 a year -- and filters are typically the largest line in fountain ownership. Budget for consumables you cannot yet price.

Sources

  1. PETLIBRO -- Dockstream 2 Smart Fountain product page (3 L, up to 30 days per charge for one pet in sensor mode, 23 dB)
  2. PETLIBRO -- Dockstream Cordless Fountain product page (2.5 L, 5,000 mAh battery, stainless steel tray)
  3. PETLIBRO -- Stainless Steel Fountain 3 L product page and filter listing
  4. Cornell Feline Health Center -- feline health information